The San Luis Obispo County Integrated Waste Management Authority (IWMA) is a government entity formed through a Joint Powers Authority governed by a 13-person Board of countywide elected officials from San Luis Obispo County and the Cities of Arroyo Grande, Atascadero, Grover Beach, Morro Bay, Paso Robles, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo and the Community Service Districts.

These jurisdictions formed the IWMA in 1994 to plan and implement regional solid waste and hazardous waste programs. The IWMA Board oversees the IWMA office and its mission to manage hazardous waste, universal waste, solid waste, green/food waste, and recycling for San Luis Obispo County.

IWMA Holiday Calendar – Office Closed

Read our Mission Statement, ValuesMission Values and Vision Objective 

Read an independent study commissioned by the SLO County IWMA comparing the environmental impacts of recycling, land-filling (with gas collection), and waste-to-energy plants.

Approved on October 11, 2015, SB 272 adds a section to the California Public Records Act requiring local agencies to create a catalog of Enterprise Systems by July 1, 2016, with annual updates. Read the Enterprise System Catalog.

In 2018 the SLO County IWMA adopted A Regional Strategy to Meet California Solid Waste Diversion Mandates. Read the Regional Strategy to Meet California Solid Waste Diversion Mandates March 2018.

IWMA Staff Information


Patti Toews, Interim Executive Director

(805) 782-8530 | Email

Kelly York, SB 1383 Program Manager

(805) 782-8530 | Email 

Barbara Aspernelson, Accountant

(805) 782-8530 | Email

Sasha Del Giorgio, Clerk of the Board

(805) 782-8530 | Email