San Luis Obispo County Integrated Waste Management Authority

BOARD MEETING AGENDA

Wednesday, September 11, 2024, 1:30 PM In-Person Meeting: County of San Luis Obispo Government Center

Board of Supervisor Chambers

1055 Monterey Street, | San Luis Obispo, CA 93408



Mission Statement:

The Mission of the IWMA is to provide coordinated efforts to follow state waste and recycling policy on behalf of member agencies through practical, cost-effective programs, education, and technical support.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS:

Robert Robert, President, City of Grover Beach
James Guthrie, Vice President, City of Arroyo Grande
Jan Marx, Past President, City of San Luis Obispo
Charles Bourbeau, City of Atascadero
Jimmy Paulding, County of San Luis Obispo, District 4 Supervisor
John Hamon, City of El Paso de Robles
Laurel Barton, City of Morro Bay
Robert Enns, Special Districts
Scott Newton, City of Pismo Beach

Instructions For Written Public Comment:

Written Public Comment must be submitted by 9:00 AM the day of the meeting. Community members are encouraged to submit written public comment via email to Sasha Del Giorgio, Clerk of the Board, at sdelgiorgio@iwma.com. Agenda correspondence received by 9:00 AM on the meeting day will be posted on the IWMA website and become part of the official record of the Board Meeting. Community members may attend the meeting in person at the San Luis Obispo County Government Center, Board of Supervisor Chambers, 1055 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93408.

Americans with Disabilities Act Compliance:

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the IWMA is committed to including the disabled in all its services, programs, and activities. If you need special aid to participate in this meeting, please get in touch with Sasha Del Giorgio, Clerk of the Board, at least 72 hours before the meeting to enable the IWMA to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to the meeting. The IWMA Clerk of the Board can be reached at (805) 781-2192 and through email at sdelgiorgio@iwma.com.

- 1. Call To Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Pledge Of Allegiance

Non-Agenda Public Comment Period

PRESENTATIONS

4. Executive Director's Report

Led by Peter Cron, Executive Director.

5. Residential Outreach Survey Report – Gigantic Ideas Studio

Led by Ashley Kuder, Program Coordinator.

Consent Agenda Public Comment Period

CONSENT AGENDA

6. Executive Committee Minutes Receive and File - August 1, 2024 Page 4

Recommendation: Receive and file the August 1, 2024, Executive Committee Meeting Minutes.

7. Board Meeting Minutes Review – August 14, 2024 Page 7

Recommendation: Approve the August 14, 2024, Board Meeting Minutes.

8. Monthly Financial Reports Page 12

Recommendation: Receive and file the attached monthly financial reports.

Regular Agenda Public Comment Period

REGULAR AGENDA

9. Technical Assistance Grant Application - City of Pismo Beach Page 21

Recommendation: Authorize the Executive Director to award \$10,000 in grant funds to the City of Pismo Beach to purchase and install two water bottle filling stations at Spyglass Park and Memory Park to assist with the City of Pismo Beach's waste reduction efforts.

10. Legislative Platform Discussion Page 27

Recommendation: Review and discuss legislative platform options that best meet the goals and objectives of the SLO County IWMA, and direct staff to adopt a policy reflecting the board's direction.

Closed Session Public Comment Period

CLOSED SESSION

The Board of Directors will recess into closed session pursuant to the Ralph M. Brown Act on the following item:

11. Conference with Real Property Negotiators

Pursuant to Government Code section 54956.8: Conference with Real Property Negotiators regarding: APN 002-292-029, 555 Chorro Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401. Agency Representative: Peter Cron, Executive Director.

12. Board Member Communications

Provides board members an opportunity to make an announcement and briefly report on their activities directly related to agency business.

ADJOURNMENT

2024 Upcoming Meetings and Events		
Board of Directors	October 9, 2024	November 13, 2024
Executive Committee	September 27, 2024	November 1, 2024